The Bronx Zoo

Everyone who knows me knows I LOVE going to the zoo. If I could go on safari at a moments notice I would jump at the chance. However, as I live in the NYC area I have to settle for the Bronx Zoo. Luckily, it is easy to get to as the #2 and #5 subway trains stop a few blocks from the Asia Gate.

I try to go several times a year as it’s good exercise for the day and you never know what to expect from the animals when you see them. I highly recommend going when the babies are there as they are very very playful. Feeding time is another good one. I have taken tons of pictures over the past few years so here are a few highlights from the last three times I went – 5/26/11, 9/19/11, and 4/19/12 – as these were the times I brought my Canon Rebel XS with me.  Enjoy!

This is a type of deer or elk that is getting a morning drink.

The Polar Bear is typically lying around its pen. It’s WAY too hot out for it.

Frog camo. Always a favorite.

Cleaning away after a morning dip.

The most neglected area by visitors of the zoo (IMO) is the bird house. But where else can you see this freaky guy?

This was just lucky timing. As I was taking a shot of the two monarch butterflys fighting, this bird swooped in for a drink.

Time for some breakfast.

Are you head butting me? Really?

The rhino in his mud pit staying cool in the summer.

Even for the Tiger it is hot outside today.

Get off my lawn!

Small gator in camoflauge. In color the pic is almost entirely yellow, I felt it looked better in b&w.

Two generations of Giraffe.

The mischievous baby seal will soon chase away that invading seagull.

The wise monkey stares at the strange children.

I love how this reflection ACTUALLY works!

If you are interested in donating to the zoo and to any of the causes they support please check out their donation page here.

If anyone wants to request an entry on a specific animal, the architecture of the zoo, or an area of the zoo please feel free to request in the comments and I will see what I can do for you down the road.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel T5i with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Animals, Bronx Zoo, NYC. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Bronx Zoo

  1. Anet says:

    Great shots Nick! I mean it, I’m very impressed.

Leave a Reply

