The Metropolitan Museum of Art

During my latest trip to the Metropolitan Museum of Art (aka. The Met), I learned a valuable lesson. When coming from the Cloisters, get off at the Museum of Natural History (81st St) and then walk through the park, but make sure you have plenty of water or if it is 98 degrees outside, you might start to develop heat stroke. Also make sure you have eaten or will eat shortly after to counteract this effect. I opted for the latter. This was due to me wanting to stop by Cleopatra’s Needle which is conveniently located behind the museum in Central Park.

Cleopatra’s Needle. One of my favorite views in Central Park and just behind the Met.

If you do not go out back to see it, the only other good view is from the Roof Garden Cafe. The perk to that option is, hey, cocktails on a roof with the latest sculpture piece and a great view of the park.

After that, it’s a quick walk around the museum and you get a first glimpse of what kind of crowd you will be exploring the museum through.

Not too crowded, but there is a camp tour group at the foot of the steps, which leads us to the days game of avoid the tour group.

This might be the emptiest I’ve ever seen the lobby. Trust excessive heat to do that, because in the winter this place is always packed.

A quick note about visiting the museum with bags. While you can carry a small bag with you (ie: a camera bag), having a backpack will be a hassle and, unless you want to wear it on your front, you will be checking it. Bag and coat check is free, they say don’t tip, but people still do and the checkers are kind about it. Try to time it when there isn’t a massive line and make sure you have anything you think you will need with you out of the bag and in pockets.

In my latest rush to get there, I needed food in my system as mentioned above from the heat, so I kinda plowed through the lobby and raced to the food court, passing through (opportunely, and tying into the earlier trip to the Cloisters) the religious/church art area:

Religious art, complete with a plastered vaulted ceiling.

This latest trip was to explore areas I hadn’t been in in a while, but as usual, everyone hits their favorite spots, and during some of my wanderings I stopped into the Temple of Dendur area.

Smallish Sphinx. I mean, it’s not small, you couldn’t pick it up, but it’s not large, you could easily straddle it like a horse…not that they let you or anyone should try to…

Temple of Dendur. Everyone’s favorite place to visit in the museum.

I actually hadn’t spent much time in the Greek and Roman section, so I headed there as well.

A marble piece of a young girl looks towards the Ionic Pillar.

I always enjoy the Asian art styles and check in to see if there is anything new or interesting there, also to retake some pics I was unhappy with the last time I was there (either due to lack of camera knowledge or angle, lighting, etc.).

Artistic shadow-play.

Overly detailed dome ceiling carving.

Japanese business office…?

There are numerous Sculpture areas. This one caught my eye with it’s style and dynamics.

Marsyas – just an incredible carving.

As a fight choreographer for stage and screen, I am always fascinated by the armory section. I also picked up a book on Samurai that I have had my eye on for awhile now that explores the different designs on swords and the craftsmanship involved. However, rather than show you all the blades behind glass that I am not allowed to play with/test out, here’s some knights in armor:

A mounted knight in full armor.

Close up of the armor. Very shiny.

Finally, on my last trip there I had stumbled upon the newly renovated American wing. Having been to the museum numerous times, including school trips while growing up, finding something new here was amazing to me, especially something new that wasn’t part of a special exhibit. The renovations were finished January 16, 2012.

I stumbled into this room by accident. But how’s that for timing with light?

My fascination with lampposts knows no limit.

Just a fantastic piece of stained glass art.

US Revolutionary War period room.

I could seriously spend all day here walking around and showing off the paintings and sculptures, but pictures are a poor substitute for actually being there and seeing the actual pieces. It is well worth the money, just try and time it for smaller crowds so you can enjoy the art without excess noise and poor views.

Next week: Some highlights from Central Park, specifically around the Ramble, along with playing with sunlight.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Artsy, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Monument, NYC, Park, Sculpture. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Metropolitan Museum of Art

  1. Great photos. I especially love the “artistic shadow” shot of (I believe) Nataraja.

  2. Pingback: The Metropolitan Museum of Art in Brief | Visions of my World

Leave a Reply

