One of these things is not like the other one (Downtown Stroll pt. 3 – conclusion)

Throughout most of the walk I kept seeing the light shine off a tall tower I hadn’t noticed before.

Kinda taller than everything around it…

It stood out from every building in the area – it’s taller, surrounded by older marble and stone buildings, and has a melted metal illusion due to the design.

One side of the building is completely flat.

I took a bunch of shots from across the street of the building and found out it is New York by Gehry. It’s so tall, I was getting some form of vertigo just looking up at it.

Detail near the peak.

Some melting detail.

Very distorting.

Kind of imposing.

It just keeps going and going…

The old vs the new.

Some of my shots ended up on untappedcities.com, which is the second article I have been involved with for them. While the building stood out, I’m not a fan of it. It doesn’t fit in the neighborhood. I’m also not a fan of modern art and architecture, I’ve always enjoyed older architecture and design.

End of the walk.

Next week: The NY Botanical Gardens.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Downtown, New York by Gehry, NYC. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One of these things is not like the other one (Downtown Stroll pt. 3 – conclusion)

  1. Anet says:

    Gehry is incredible. That building is incredible.

Leave a Reply

