Wandering around the southern tip of NYC

Back in February 2012 I decided to take a walk. Originally I was going to walk across the Brooklyn Bridge for the first time (Yes, I have yet to ever do that). This plan changed when 1) I realized I was on the wrong side of the bridge to do that (I was on the south side while the way to walk across starts on the north side), and 2) clouds started to threaten rain behind me (over NJ). So I kept on walking until I hit the East River and South St. Seaport.

Ye Olde Brooklyn Bridge

That’s a lot of cables.

The Brooklyn Bridge and…Brooklyn.

Bridge and remainder of a pier.

Another shot of the bridge.

I continued south into the South Street Seaport. Not to stop in any shops or wander around as I’ve been there many times so I already knew if there were stores or anything I wanted to go to. Also, I wasn’t hungry, so I got some shots of the Peking and continued on.

Front of the Peking.

Past meets present on the pier.

I kept on going, passing the helicopter lift off area for flying around Manhattan and came upon the old Staten Island Ferry Whitehall Terminal. This hasn’t been used since the early 1990s, when there was a fire inside. It’s still not open as a new facility was designed and opened immediately next to it.

Lamppost fixtures on the old SI ferry terminal.

Loading dock or secret parking lot?

Boarded up broken windows.

The old Staten Island Ferry Terminal (the old Whitehall Terminal) being renovated for some form of future use.

From there, it was into Battery Park, including the James Watson House, Castle Clinton, and numerous statues that celebrate various wars and Ellis Island.

One of these buildings really doesn’t fit with the other ones…probably the James Watson House.

WWII memorial in Battery Park City.

An Immigrant sculpture just by Castle Clinton.

The Castle Clinton line to the Liberty and Ellis Islands Ferry. It wraps around the building on both the outside and the inside. It’s probably better to go to NJ to get to both islands.

Man overboard!

A heavily cloudy day lets in a glimpse of the sun over Liberty Island.

Greatest park bench set up EVER!

About 5 minutes after I got to the PATH, the clouds opened and that was it for the day.

Next week: Either Brooklyn Botanical Gardens or the Peace Fountain (which I just saw and kinda freaked me out). I will make up my mind mid-week.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Battery Park, Brooklyn Bridge, Downtown, East River, NYC, South Street Seaport, Staten Island Ferry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wandering around the southern tip of NYC

  1. These are great shots — love the second one in particular.

Leave a Reply

