Cathedral of St. John the Devine – Exterior

And we are back from New Orleans. It will be a bit of time before all of those pics are ready to be shown, so we return to my walk in Harlem and Cathedral Pkwy with the Cathedral of St. John the Divine. I arrived close to closing time and didn’t realize it (it closes at 6pm), so I only got a few interiors. I’ll have to go back again.

The Cathedral is not completed, but is still full of intricate details and very impressive. The north end is the side that is not completed. It is also fenced off, so I was unable to get any views of it. I focused on the side by the Peace Fountain and the front facade.

The intricate southern side of the Cathedral.

Bell tower.

What a view from the sidewalk.

A shot with my wide-angle adaptor. Yes, it’s a fisheye, but this way I’m not standing across the street or in traffic.

Doorway detail.

The rose window.

Some of the exterior sculpture.

More of the intricate sculptures.

Wooden door detail.

And the few interiors before they closed and I had to leave…to hopefully return another day.

Inside stained glass.

The organ over the entranceway.

Next week we shall continue the walk around Harlem and Cathedral Pkwy with some more surrounding area including Grant’s Tomb, Columbia University, and some other churches.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Church, harlem, NYC, St. John the Divine. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cathedral of St. John the Devine – Exterior

  1. Pingback: Inside the Cathedral of St. John the Divine | Visions of my World

  2. Pingback: Architecture and Art Around the Bronx Zoo | Visions of my World

  3. Pingback: A Return to the Cathedral of St John the Divine | Visions of my World

Leave a Reply

