People watching in Central Park

Going out and taking photographs, you inevitably get some really nice shots with people in them. Especially when walking around massive metropolitan areas (like NYC). Typically, if you are expecting to use those shots for any type of commercial usage, you have to then approach these strangers and get them to agree to a waiver/permission of use. I tend to get pictures of people who have very little idea that I am shooting them for a picture. I also don’t plan to use these for commercial use (still being new to the photo world). Here are some of my favorite views from around Central Park.

Reading under a tree.

Reading under a tree.

An afternoon nap.

An afternoon nap.

The interesting story behind the next picture is that I was trying to get some shots of that bench with the lake and the autumn leaves in the background and these two were there shooting a photo project, so I kept on working around them and staying out of their way while they tried to stay out of mine. When they finished and started walking off, I quickly took this shot.

End of a date.

End of a date.

Out on the lake.

Out on the lake.

The funny thing of the next shot is that you could crop it to make two shots. The first is the girl taking a photo of the lake, while the other is the couple sitting on the rock. Leaving the two together shows just how different life in the city can be.

Around the lake.

Around the lake.

There are always musicians around the park. Strangely I mostly find saxophonists. I took this shot of an older musician sitting in the Mall. I then edited it into black and white and eliminated the cars in the background and the trees so as to focus more on him.

The musician in the mall.

The musician in the mall.

A different take to get rid of the excess noise in the background.

A different take to get rid of the excess noise in the background.

With this shot, I wanted to get the woman reading with the rock in the background, then out of nowhere came this kid who just stood there looking around. I find it a tad creepy.

The watcher on the rock.

The watcher on the rock.

A family rests as the sun sets.

A family rests as the sun sets.

I was taking texture and detail pics of this rock when I noticed all of these couples walking up the path on the side, so I waited until I just had one couple and got this shot.

An autumn walk.

An autumn walk.

With this shot, it was so crowded up on this rock that it was almost impossible to get shots without people in them. So I thought, ‘What the hell?’ and took one on purpose with these two in the foreground.

Just sit and watch.

Just sit and watch.

Next week: We return to New Orleans for a bit of a look at the French Quarter. This might end out the year since I will be away for the holidays.

Also: I am thinking of starting up something like an etsy shop (not etsy as they don’t like the whole photo/bulk thing if multiple people want the same print or calendar or whatnot) or something similar to sell prints, maybe calendars. Figuring out the pricing I should do and which print shops I trust and are affordable so as not to drive price up to unreasonable rates (including shipping and tax). If you have thoughts or advise on this, please feel free to comment below.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Artsy, Central Park, nature, NYC, Park, People, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

