New Orleans – Inside the St. Louis Cathedral

To wrap up this year of blogging (7 months to be exact) we take a brief look at the St. Louis Cathedral in New Orleans. It is located on the NW side of Jackson Square and faces towards the Mississippi River. I was waiting for people to go sight seeing with, so I stepped inside the Cathedral to get a quick look around. It was also one of the few times I was in the area that there wasn’t a mass or wedding going on in it that weekend. I only got a few shots before I had to leave, but I think they highlight the interior architecture (I think I covered enough of the exterior here).

Looking up the facade to the sky.

Looking up the facade to the sky.

Light a few candles.

Light a few candles.

Nice gate design.

Nice gate design.

Ceiling artwork.

Ceiling artwork.

The main nave.

The main nave.

The organ over the entrance.

The organ over the entrance.

A cherub with a clam of holy water.

A cherub with a clam of holy water.

The podium backed with another clam.

The podium backed with another clam.

The altar.

The altar.

I would like to thank all of my readers and commenters for this initial start up to my blogging. I am looking into setting up an online store for my photos, especially after doing a calendar of NYC pics for christmas that did fairly well and got really nice reactions from people.

Coming up for 2013 in no discernible order so far: Upstate NY snow, more New Orleans (Benachi House, Mississippi River, Musicians & People, NO at Night), hoping for more snow so I can do a session in Central Park and around NYC, but that involves nature cooperating.

A happy New Year to all!

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Church, French Quarter, New Orleans, St. Louis Cathedral. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

