Snow in Central Park

It finally snowed!!!!! After waiting almost 2 years for a good size snow fall, we finally got it here in NYC, so I was off early the next morning to Central Park to get as many shots as I possibly could. And I walked a lot. Started down at Columbus Circle, walked along the south end of the park, then back up and over to the Mall and Bethesda Fountain, through the Ramble, past Belvedere Castle and Cleopatra’s Needle, then up to the Reservoir and along the Loch before exiting the park at the northern end and walking over to the subway for a very tired ride home. And I did all this with only falling down one icy patch on a staircase – like sleigh riding without the sled.

The fountain in Columbus Circle looking like a frozen boat prow.

The fountain in Columbus Circle looking like a frozen boat prow.

Welcome to Narnia. Let's find Mr. Tumnus!

Welcome to Narnia. Let’s find Mr. Tumnus!

I barely missed one carriage going by, so I sat and waited for another. And by sat and waited I mean walked back and forth around the bend for 20 minutes to see if one was coming.

I barely missed one carriage going by, so I sat and waited for another. And by sat and waited I mean walked back and forth around the bend for 20 minutes to see if one was coming.

The Pond on the southeast corner of the park: very much frozen over.

The Pond on the southeast corner of the park: very much frozen over.

The walkways are only partially shoveled and covered in ice.

The walkways are only partially shoveled and covered in ice.

Coming up on the Gapstow Bridge.

Coming up on the Gapstow Bridge.

A view through the snow covered trees at the Gapstow.

A view through the snow covered trees at the Gapstow.

My favorite gazebo covered in snow, but after my slide down the stairs, I was not attempting the climb that day.

My favorite gazebo covered in snow, but after my slide down the stairs, I was not attempting the climb that day.

The fountain has snow and only one pigeon that day.

The fountain has snow and only one pigeon that day.

Why yes, people could go sledding down the staircase at Bethesda Terrace.

Why yes, people could go sledding down the staircase at Bethesda Terrace.

Welcome to the snow covered Bethesda Terrace, complete with people walking in the fountain.

Welcome to the snow covered Bethesda Terrace, complete with people walking in the fountain.

The Ramble in all its snowy goodness.

The Ramble in all its snowy goodness.

Staring into another land.

Staring into another land.

Looking through the trees at the Lake.

Looking through the trees at the Lake.

My favorite arch in the Ramble - very tough to time it without people walking through, it's popular.

My favorite arch in the Ramble – very tough to time it without people walking through, it’s popular.

The castle is besieged with snow.

The castle is besieged with snow.

The obelisk rises above the snow covered trees.

The obelisk rises above the snow covered trees.

Snowy ballfield.

Snowy ballfield.

A stroll along the Reservoir.

A stroll along the Reservoir.

The Reservoir does not freeze, only the edges.

The Reservoir does not freeze, only the edges.

A buried bench at the northern Pool

A buried bench at the northern Pool

A winter hideaway.

A winter hideaway.

A bridge in the Northern Woods.

A bridge in the Northern Woods.

Springbanks Arch - I walked under this because I took a wrong turn on the way to the Loch in the Northern Woods.

Springbanks Arch – I walked under this because I took a wrong turn on the way to the Loch in the Northern Woods.

Welcome to my winter wonderland.

Welcome to my winter wonderland.

The path is covered and canopied with snow.

The path is covered and canopied with snow.

The Loch in winter snow.

The Loch in winter snow.

Huddlestone Arch is practically hidden with all the snow laden branches.

Huddlestone Arch is practically hidden with all the snow laden branches.

The walk along the northern edge of the park offered many snow covered benches.

The walk along the northern edge of the park offered many snow covered benches.

And so ends my snowy frollick in the park. Hope you enjoyed!

Next week: I’ve still got two more albums from New Orleans left to share, so next week let’s take a look at the food down there.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Belvedere Castle, Bethesda Fountain, Central Park, Hiking, lake, Landscape, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Monument, nature, NYC, Park, The Ramble, Winter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snow in Central Park

  1. Yup. I remember all kinds of snow in the Rambles!!! Lulz

  2. Anet says:

    Nice photos!! Reminds me of my time in New York.

Leave a Reply

