New Orleans: Food/Drinks to put your Stomach into a Coma

Any time you go to a new place, you should try new food. And the best of the best is found throughout New Orleans. There are mainline places, hole in the wall, food carts, and hidden gems. The typical answer you get when you ask friends of where to eat when you go there is, “You’ll find something good anywhere.” This is especially true if you like seafood and/or spicy food. Also, there is a wonderful thing called a “Po-boy” – you should try many different kinds, they are all amazing.

The first day there a group hit a slightly hidden place: Cajun Seafood. You have to love a place that’s hidden under a highway and has something like this for dirt cheap.

Steamed Crawfish...oh so tasty.

Steamed Crawfish…oh so tasty.

A great place I found for breakfast was right on the side of Jackson Square: Cafe Pontalba.

Eggs, crab cake, some form of hash browns. Welcome to breakfast food coma.

Eggs, crab cake, some form of hash browns. Welcome to breakfast food coma.

The day after the wedding I went to, I had to nurse myself back to walking health, so I stopped in at The Old Coffee Pot, which might have had the best Hurricane I had down there (IMHO).

This is the Eggs Jonathan with grits (because you must have grits a few times while in the south)

This is the Eggs Jonathan with grits (because you must have grits a few times while in the south)

That's my Hurricane. Tasty.

That’s my Hurricane. Tasty.

This segues right into the booze, as it is a heavy drinking town, and there are so many different things to try.

This was the extent of my stereotypical tourist stop: a hurricane at Patty O'Brien's. It was fine.

This was the extent of my stereotypical tourist stop: a hurricane at Patty O’Brien’s. It was fine.

In Laffite's Blacksmith Shop I wanted something cold. This was perfect - an ice-e with a lot of booze.

In Laffite’s Blacksmith Shop I wanted something cold. This was perfect – an ice-e with a lot of booze.

These may make you blind. All I know is it made my trip to the voodoo museum a LOT of fun - especially as I mixed and matched the two flavors.

These may make you blind. All I know is it made my trip to the voodoo museum a LOT of fun – especially as I mixed and matched the two flavors.

I think we found my new favorite rum.

I think we found my new favorite rum.

***A couple of milestones this week: We passed 1000 views! I also opened on online shop (the link can be found in the newly formed About tab at the top of this page).

Next week: We will wrap up the New Orleans albums with a look at the city at night.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Food & Booze, French Quarter, Jackson Square, New Orleans. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

