A Dilemma of What to Do With a Shot

This shot of the Highline with it's winding path and construction shielding raises questions as to what can I do with this shot due to the mural by artist JR on the left side.

This shot of the Highline with it’s winding path and construction shielding raises questions as to what can I do with this shot due to the mural by artist JR on the left side.

I had a day with a lot of time to kill between things, and it was overly cloudy out, so I braved the Highline…without hordes of tourists. There is a lot of construction going on, so you come across many buildings with orange safety stuff on them and these handy dandy overpass covers that both protect you from any falling construction poop and/or rain if that happens. These variables make for very interesting shots and, as you can see above, I got a shot that I really like and took. However, it also includes a mural by the artist JR. Due to this, I now face the question: can I sell this image or is it just one of those things that I can make to hang up in my own home, but cannot bring about any monetary advancement? In many cases, this comes down to was this a picture of the mural or did the mural just happen to be there in the picture of what you were already shooting? Personally, I think this picture looks better with the mural in it, but that mural takes up a good 1/3 of the shot so I feel iffy about trying to make any money off of it. It’s a fine line, and I’d appreciate input from people who have dealt with issues like this.

Next week: Grand Central Station and a slightly large visitor that stopped by on its way to DC.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Highline, NYC, Park. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

