Party with the Snow Leopards

I try to make it to the Bronx Zoo once a year. There is always something different to see since you can never predict what the animals are going to (or not going to) do. Over the years, there are some things you just come to expect – not seeing the tiger on the monorail, seeing a polar bear that never moves, eating lunch with a peafowl 2 feet away scared out of your mind it’s going to attack you for your food. A typical moment is barely seeing the snow leopards. In all the past trips I have made, they are either hiding in the back waiting for food, or asleep against the glass. This trip was COMPLETELY DIFFERENT. They were both up and about running around and striking poses. So I took a ton of shots. Here is just a small sample of the bunch I took.

I just need to yawn. It's too early for a nap.

I just need to yawn. It’s too early for a nap.

Oh wait, what's over there?

Oh wait, what’s over there?

I have an itch!!!!

I have an itch!!!!

Shhh, someone's coming!

Shhh, someone’s coming!

Incoming off the mountain side.

Incoming off the mountain side.

Close up dealing with the heat.

Close up dealing with the heat.

Prowling around.

Prowling around.

This is my tree to prowl around.

This is my tree to prowl around.

Shady spot achieved!

Shady spot achieved!

This is my scratching bush. It also hides me from you.

This is my scratching bush. It also hides me from you.

Ye Olde Shady Spot.

Ye Olde Shady Spot.

My domain.

My domain.

Is that a bird?

Is that a bird?

Wait for it...

Wait for it…

Nope, I'm just going to sit here and watch.

Nope, I’m just going to sit here and watch.

Next week: Fun with baby monkeys.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Animals, Bronx, Bronx Zoo, NYC and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

