A Heatwave in Athol, NY

This summer saw some really awful temperatures in NYC, so when it looked like we were getting a lot of days in a row of triple digits, I went up to the mountains. Sadly the heat followed me to a place that didn’t have any AC. It did have a fan though and was at least down in the 80s. So that was helpful. As seen in an earlier post we did get some hiking in. I thought I’d also share a few of the images I took while wandering around the parents house and the surrounding area.

A windmill blows in a tiny flower garden.

A windmill blows in a tiny flower garden.

The Adirondack Gold Maple Farm is across the street.

The Adirondack Gold Maple Farm is across the street.

A view around the corner, with some excellent clouds.

A view around the corner, with some excellent clouds.

A barn hides in the trees.

A barn hides in the trees.

A pond beneath the clouds.

A pond beneath the clouds.

A wide angle view of the maple farm.

A wide angle view of the maple farm.

My parents' home, hidden in the trees.

My parents’ home, hidden in the trees.

Garnet Lake - a short drive away.

Garnet Lake – a short drive away.

More of the lake from the banks of it.

More of the lake from the banks of it.

Looking through the trees to the sun over the lake.

Looking through the trees to the sun over the lake.

The mountains on the other side - and I'm in the lake.

The mountains on the other side – and I’m in the lake.

The sun shines on the water.

The sun shines on the water.

The water gets an interesting tint as the sun sets.

The water gets an interesting tint as the sun sets.

A view of a portion of my mom's garden.

A view of a portion of my mom’s garden.

Close up of a flower while trying to catch a bee.

Close up of a flower while trying to catch a bee.

Look at the beetles all over this flower.

Look at the beetles all over this flower.

Here, I'll add some color to help.

Here, I’ll add some color to help.

A dragonfly lands.

A dragonfly lands.

A big ole garden snake sees me.

A big ole garden snake sees me.

A pastel flower view.

A pastel flower view.

Next week: A walk through the conservatory gardens in Central Park.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Adirondacks, farm, Flower, garden, Landscape, mountain, nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

