Brooklyn Botanical is Buried by Snow

The other week, there was a lot of snow falling on NYC. Once it stopped and the sun came out, I knew where I wanted to go get some images: the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens. During the winter season, they have free entry during the weekdays, so once the sun came out, I headed over there. It was true, the entry was free. Or I broke in. I don’t know. There was no one at the gate and I walked in. While walking around I passed numerous employees and security who seemed to have no problem with me being there, so I continued along my snowy trek. My main purpose was to go get some nice snow shots in the Japanese Garden. Unfortunately, I was thwarted by locked gates. They were not opening it that day, so I had to settle for telephoto shots from the side of the pond opposite the waterfalls. The sun was very intense, making for some interesting images, and, since there were very few people there, I was able to get some really nice people-free shots of areas I may not usually get.

The entry way was plowed. We're going in!

The entry way was plowed. We’re going in!

Look at the fun the sun creates.

Look at the fun the sun creates.

Arbor tunnel.

Arbor tunnel.

The Osborne Garden is one giant sheet of snow.

The Osborne Garden is one giant sheet of snow.

My favorite tree lined staircase.

My favorite tree lined staircase.

A bizarrely shaped cherry tree hides the sun a bi for me.

A bizarrely shaped cherry tree hides the sun a bi for me.

Where do these footprints go?

Where do these footprints go?

The frozen Japanese Garden.

The frozen Japanese Garden.

The coi pond is frozen solid.

The coi pond is frozen solid.

And there is the gate: locked. :(

And there is the gate: locked. 😦

If you don't mind the snow drifts, head on into the Shakespeare Garden.

If you don’t mind the snow drifts, head on into the Shakespeare Garden.

Fun with color focus.

Fun with color focus.

A fountain figure covered in snow. It looks like a gnome hat!

A fountain figure covered in snow. It looks like a gnome hat!

Now that is some interesting snow cover.

Now that is some interesting snow cover.

The world is frozen.

The world is frozen.

The sun makes this one just pop!

The sun makes this one just pop!

The conservatory shines in the sunlight.

The conservatory shines in the sunlight.

When you have this type of light, you have to do at least one b&w tree shadow.

When you have this type of light, you have to do at least one b&w tree shadow.

The bench in the snow.

The bench in the snow.

A hidden bench in the trees.

A hidden bench in the trees.

The stone bridge and tree.

The stone bridge and tree.

We return to the frozen pond to see if they will let me in.

We return to the frozen pond to see if they will let me in.

Telephoto time begins.

Telephoto time begins.

The reeds make a nice effect.

The reeds make a nice effect.

The pathway around the garden has been plowed.

The pathway around the garden has been plowed.

Bonsai style tree with snow.

Bonsai style tree with snow.

I may be peeking through the wooden fence to see this end of the garden.

I may be peeking through the wooden fence to see this end of the garden.

A view from up on the hill overlooking the garden.

A view from up on the hill overlooking the garden.

Next week: I have a few sunset shots I would like to share.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Art, Artsy, Brooklyn, Brooklyn Botanical, Flower, fountain, garden, Hiking, lake, Landscape, Magic Hour, Monument, nature, NYC, Park, Sculpture, waterfall, Winter and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

