An Ice Cold Day by the Reservoir

A few weeks ago it was terribly freezing outside, but I had time to kill between things, so I, rather foolishly, trundled off into the park with my camera. I aimed for the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis reservoir and the little trod on area east of it. The perk was that the park was pretty empty so I got a lot of unobstructed images. The con was that I froze my butt off which made for an uncomfortable remainder of the day/week. Anyway, here are some of the images I got:

This guy greeted me as I entered the park.

This guy greeted me as I entered the park.

Passing the bridge with no name on the maps of the park.

Passing the bridge with no name on the maps of the park.

Apparently some crazy people had been out jogging on what was, ostensibly, a sheet of ice around the reservoir.

Apparently some crazy people had been out jogging on what was, ostensibly, a sheet of ice around the reservoir.

Frozen reservoir.

Frozen reservoir.

That is some interesting ice patterns.

That is some interesting ice patterns.

Here come the birds!

Here come the birds!

Cherry trees look creepy without any leaves.

Cherry trees look creepy without any leaves.

So strange to see the jogging trail so empty.

So strange to see the jogging trail so empty.

The east side entrance to the reservoir jogging track. Taxis can drop you off right in front of it.

The east side entrance to the reservoir jogging track. Taxis can drop you off right in front of it.

A church on the east side I should look into at some point.

A church on the east side I should look into at some point – it is called the Church of the Heavenly Rest.

The taxi loop by the gate.

The taxi loop by the gate.

The boathouse at the southern tip of the reservoir.

The boathouse at the southern tip of the reservoir.

Yes I turned it so it was right side up.

Yes I turned it so it was right side up.

If you look at the top quarter of the obelisk you will see the beginnings of what will be a conservancy process.

If you look at the top quarter of the obelisk you will see the beginnings of what will be a conservancy process.

I love this spooky image.

I love this spooky image.

Winter in Narnia.

Winter in Narnia.

Never saw Bethesda so empty.

Never saw Bethesda so empty.

The Bow Bridge is empty as well.

The Bow Bridge is empty as well.

Along the lake, some of this path was rock solid ice and a bit treacherous.

Along the lake, some of this path was rock solid ice and a bit treacherous.

The lake ice claims this tree.

The lake ice claims this tree.

A favorite spot for couples.

A favorite spot for couples.

Got a gap in the clouds.

Got a gap in the clouds.

I have never noticed this statue before. It's the 7th Regiment Memorial.

I have never noticed this statue before. It’s the 7th Regiment Memorial.

Along the bench lined path into Columbus Circle and a cup of hot chocolate.

Along the bench lined path into Columbus Circle and a cup of hot chocolate.

Next week: due to projects and time, we’ll start taking a look at some b&w images I’ve shot and worked on over the years.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Central Park, Hiking, lake, Landscape, nature, NYC, Park, Sculpture, Winter and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

