Central Park Zoo

It’s always been surprising to people that I’ve lived in this area for so many years and never visited the Central Park Zoo. The truth behind it is that I’ve never had much of an urge to go in since it is so small. I had walked through the cross over several times and seen that there was always a crowd inside both sections of the zoo: the main section and the Tisch Children’s Zoo. On this trip, I opted to just go to the main section as I had no urge to go to a petting zoo with my camera as I have no children with me.

Originally, the main attraction of the zoo was the polar bear. This has, sadly, changed last year. Now the main attraction is the snow leopard, who is the craftiest hider I have seen in a zoo ever. I had to go to his pen several times before he came out of hiding in the tall grass and bushes.

Some of the light allowing architecture on the walkways.

Some of the light allowing architecture on the walkways.

Giant fish in the Tropic Zone.

Giant fish in the Tropic Zone.

This one tried to take my head off when I walked in.

This one tried to take my head off when I walked in.

Sleeping bats on the ceiling.

Sleeping bats on the ceiling.

Overlooking all the birds in the area.

Overlooking all the birds in the area.

Bright red eye.

Bright red eye.

The ivy makes these very scenic.

The ivy makes these very scenic.

Snow monkeys occupy the center of the zoo.

Snow monkeys occupy the center of the zoo.

Duck cleaning.

Duck cleaning.

This is my turtle.

This is my turtle.

Snow monkey getting a snack.

Snow monkey getting a snack.

A red panda peering through the leaves at the strange humans.

A red panda peering through the leaves at the strange humans.

Interesting looking crane.

Interesting looking crane.

Penguin love in the polar circle.

Penguin love in the polar circle.

Wise owl.

Wise owl.

Seats in the central garden.

Seats in the central garden.

The sea lion pool.

The sea lion pool.

Basking in the sun.

Basking in the sun.

Readying to dive.

Readying to dive.

These statues are all over the zoo.

These statues are all over the zoo.

Top of the rock.

Top of the rock.

Snarling.

Snarling.

Scratch my neck.

Scratch my neck.

A section for galas and events.

A section for galas and events.

The Arsenal/Administration building.

The Arsenal/Administration building.

The Delacorte Clock.

The Delacorte Clock and north entrance.

A fountain outside the zoo.

A fountain outside the zoo.

The entrance to the children's zoo.

The entrance to the children’s zoo.

Next week: Shelving Rock Falls up in Lake George.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Animals, Architecture, Central Park, garden, NYC, Park, Spring and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

