A Commercial Leads to the LES

I did a commercial in an area of the city I don’t usually go in to: the Lower East Side. It’s been pretty much overrun by Chinatown, but there are still bars and clubs. The area I shot in is Mechanics Alley. I’d never been there before and it was really interesting looking, so I went back the next week with my camera. The morning started out with an audition by Delancey St, and then I headed south from there. Afterwards I just wandered around for a bit enjoying the day. Since it was the middle of the day in the middle of the week, most of these streets were really empty resulting in pictures of places without crowds of people (my own personal preference).

Started my walk up by Delancey St and the Williamsburg Bridge.

Started my walk up by Delancey St and the Williamsburg Bridge.

Empty park.

Empty park.

Interesting church in the projects.

Interesting church in the projects.

There might be a few bridges around this area.

There might be a few bridges around this area.

Interesting architecture on the facades of the buildings still around here.

Interesting architecture on the facades of the buildings still around here.

The Seward Park branch of the NYPL.

The Seward Park branch of the NYPL.

Fun with arches in the architecture.

Fun with arches in the architecture.

The Church of St. Teresa is really tall.

The Church of St. Teresa is really tall.

Made it to the Manhattan Bridge, which overshadows the alley.

Made it to the Manhattan Bridge, which overshadows the alley.

Mechanics Alley in the shadow of the Manhattan Bridge on ramp.

Mechanics Alley in the shadow of the Manhattan Bridge on ramp.

Really interesting graffiti in the alley.

Really interesting graffiti in the alley.

The south end of the alley.

The south end of the alley.

Directly under the bridge.

Directly under the bridge.

Walking through the LES where Chinatown has invaded/spilled over.

Walking through the LES where Chinatown has invaded/spilled over.

Southern Manhattan skyline.

Southern Manhattan skyline.

I had taken this exact image as the sun was setting the week before with my phone. Wanted one on this walk as well.

I had taken this exact image as the sun was setting the week before with my phone. Wanted one on this walk as well.

The courthouse and bikes.

The courthouse and bikes.

The whole complex from across Foley Square.

The whole complex from across Foley Square.

Next week: An interrupted walk on the Upper West Side.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel T5i with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, Artsy, Courthouse, Foley Square, fountain, NYC and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

