New Year, New Equipment

The holidays have come and gone and with them came the arrival of a new camera for me. I am now shooting with a Canon Rebel T5i. Lots of functions to relearn and I haven’t even touched the video aspect of it yet. As I was spending time up in the cabin, I went on several trips to test out my new camera. The first few days were very rainy so I spent time taking pictures of the dogs and numerous birds. Then I took a walk around the area once the sun appeared.

Lesson: Once I returned from upstate, my computer decided to fry itself. Luckily, I had already backed up all of the photos I had taken along with the catalog for lightroom. My habit is to always do this after a shoot (or successive days of shooting) and I don’t take the photos off the image card until I back up my whole hard drive. So nothing was lost. Phew. Here are some of the images I got on the first few days of using the camera. All of the interiors are taken with minimal light as I wanted to see the limits of the ISO functions/settings.

Hunter is taking a nap.

Hunter is taking a nap.

...or is he?

…or is he?

The birds are feasting.

The birds are feasting.

Jack is wondering what is going on.

Jack is wondering what is going on.

Relaxing by the fire.

Relaxing by the fire.

Out on the porch and towards the sun.

Out on the porch and towards the sun.

View of the maple farm.

View of the maple farm.

Even after several days of rain there is still snow and ice.

Even after several days of rain there is still snow and ice.

Creek in the woods.

Creek in the woods.

The barn and the pond.

The barn and the pond.

The sun can be quite brutal in the winter when there are minimal clouds.

The sun can be quite brutal in the winter when there are minimal clouds.

More of the maple farm with the sun beating down.

More of the maple farm with the sun beating down.

Next week: We took a drive around the southern end of Lake George.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Adirondacks, Animals, Architecture, Landscape, nature, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

