Prospect Park Covered in Frozen Snow

I had a tv shoot on location just south of Prospect Park that ended in the middle of the afternoon. I also had a photo event to do that evening about 10 blocks from the north end of the park with approximately 6 hrs between the two gigs. So I decided to wander through the park with my camera and get some shots. I’ve only been in the park once before (a short day shoot on a tv show) so I’ve never really explored it in depth. It was pretty vacant except for a few ice skaters, people walking their dogs, numerous homeless people sitting around, and a group of people getting high in a gazebo. The sun was setting as I walked in, so I only got about an hour of light before having to hustle and find my way out of the park in the dark in time to get some dinner and make it to my next gig. I’m not sure if it was just because I’d never been in this park or the constant run ins with homeless and drugs, but I didn’t always feel very safe in this one.

The entrance to the park at Ocean Pkwy (the southwest corner).

The entrance to the park at Ocean Pkwy (the southwest corner).

The sculptures of horses tower over the entrance.

The sculptures of horses tower over the entrance.

Benches surrounded by frozen snow, making the walk very interesting finding footing and not sliding around.

Benches surrounded by frozen snow, making the walk very interesting finding footing and not sliding around.

I was distracted by this peregrine falcon that was hunting a squirrel.

I was distracted by this peregrine falcon that was hunting a squirrel.

I walked directly under it at one point.

I walked directly under it at one point.

Hunter and prey.

Hunter and prey.

It froze in place after the falcon had missed it on the ground.

It froze in place after the falcon had missed it on the ground.

Very majestic in its patience.

Very majestic in its patience.

The lake is completely frozen over.

The lake is completely frozen over as the birds flock above it.

The sun is setting over the "path" I had been walking on.

The sun is setting over the “path” I had been walking on.

Coming up on a gazebo and the ice rink.

Coming up on a gazebo and the ice rink.

The sun sets over the snowy lake.

The sun sets over the snowy lake.

Sun setting behind the gazebo (find the drug addicts inside it).

Sun setting behind the gazebo (find the drug addicts inside it).

Looks like a storybook image.

Looks like a storybook image.

The lake in it's frozen beauty.

The lake in it’s frozen beauty.

A sculpture on the side of the lake and the WhiteLevy Esplanade.

A sculpture on the side of the lake and the WhiteLevy Esplanade.

Looking out at Chaim Baier Music Island.

Looking out at the esplanade.

An interesting area filled with statues and a turned off fountain.

An interesting area filled with statues and a turned off fountain.

Coming up on the Prospect Park Boathouse.

Coming up on the Prospect Park Boathouse.

An interesting bridge across the waterway.

An interesting bridge across the waterway.

A small waterfall at the north end.

A small waterfall at the north end.

Ducks found a hole in the ice.

Ducks found a hole in the ice.

The lights are on at the boathouse.

The lights are on at the boathouse.

Sunset behind the bridge.

Sunset behind the bridge.

For some reason, this bridge tunnel creeped me out.

For some reason, this bridge tunnel creeped me out.

The sun is down.

The sun is down.

Coming out of the park at Grand Army Plaza.

Coming out of the park at Grand Army Plaza.

Timed it for no cars.

Timed it for no cars.

A parting view of the plaza before I went off to find food.

A parting view of the plaza before I went off to find food.

Next week: Some more b&w images while I work on some more trips and such.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel T5i with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Brooklyn, Hiking, lake, Landscape, Monument, nature, NYC, Park, Sculpture, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

