Taming of the Shrew at Summit Rock with MSP

I have been brought in to take some production photos for Manhattan Shakespeare Project‘s latest production of The Taming of the Shrew. They tend to perform over the course of several weeks in various parks. I caught them in Central Park at Summit Rock. I still have a session to do this coming week at Morningside Park, but I wanted to share some of the images in hopes that readers will take the time to come see some free Shakespeare/theatre in the parks that isn’t at the Delacorte. Their remaining performance schedule can be found here. And while these images don’t contain spoilers (it’s Shakespeare, we’re way past the statute on limitations with spoilers here), they do show off the cast and some fun moments.

We're doing a show!

We’re doing a show!

Waiting for a cue.

Waiting for a cue.

I left the blue in because it made this look very 80's.

I left the blue in because it made this look very 80’s.

Giant gestures always get my attention.

Giant gestures always get my attention.

I have a jaunty hat.

I have a jaunty hat.

Them's be fightin' words!

Them’s be fightin’ words!

Yup, kicking ensues.

Yup, kicking ensues.

Everyone loves a crane pose.

Everyone loves a crane pose.

We're going this way!

We’re going this way!

Softening an image to engage the blurry effect of the fight move.

Softening an image to engage the blurry effect of the fight move.

I mean, you're all listening to me, right?

I mean, you’re all listening to me, right?

Seems like it might be a musical number. ...but it's not.

Seems like it might be a musical number. …but it’s not.

Dynamic test: take one.

Dynamic test: take one.

Dynamic test: take two. Much better when the whole body is into it.

Dynamic test: take two. Much better when the whole body is into it.

Pinup shot on the gravel.

Pinup shot on the gravel.

You really just said that?

You really just said that?

Backs together, speak in a circle.

Backs together, speak in a circle.

There may be some frolicking going on.

There may be some frolicking going on.

If you have a low sign, you must use it at some point.

If you have a low sign, you must use it at some point.

There might be some drama in this production.

There might be some drama in this production.

I'm not wearing this anymore!

I’m not wearing this anymore!

Some romance.

Some romance.

Ok, a lot of romance.

Ok, a lot of romance.

This smells kinda funny.

This smells kinda funny.

Make a goofy face, I will catch you with the camera.

Make a goofy face, I will catch you with the camera.

That's it! I'm going home!

That’s it! I’m going home!

The show's over. I'm sad now.

The show’s over. I’m sad now.

The director of the production during a talk back.

The director of the production during a talk back.

Next week: some more people shots from walking around the city on a hot day.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel T5i with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Art, Central Park, NYC, People, Performance, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

