Birds and Other Animals (but mostly birds) Around Morningside Park

To wrap up these posts on Morningside Park, let’s take a look at the animals that live in the park. There is always an egret (or some type of heron/loon) at the pond in the park, as well as some stray cats and turtles. As is usual when I am watching birds or animals that can do many things that make an interesting image, I took a TON of pics. Here are some of my favorites.

This is my home and you are a guest in it - so regal.

This is my home and you are a guest in it – so regal.

Looking like a painting.

Looking like a painting.

Momma and baby ducks!

Momma and baby ducks!

Look at the baby ducks!

Look at the baby ducks!

Another duck came and stood right next to me while I was shooting. No fear. Like squirrels in Union Square.

Another duck came and stood right next to me while I was shooting. No fear. Like squirrels in Union Square.

Time for a stroll.

Time for a stroll.

Looks a bit nicer in b&w. At least to my tastes.

Looks a bit nicer in b&w. At least to my tastes.

A new local to lord over the pond.

A new local to lord over the pond.

Bird on a rock.

Bird on a rock.

I am unsure what type of bird this is, but it liked to pose there.

I am unsure what type of bird this is, but it liked to pose there.

Cleaning time.

Cleaning time.

Close up on cleaning time.

Close up on cleaning time.

Cat on a rock.

Cat on a rock.

Nap time on a rock under the trees.

Nap time on a rock under the trees.

I kinda love how this one came out.

I kinda love how this one came out.

Walking through the pond.

Walking through the pond.

The black bird takes a swim (only time I caught it surfacing).

The black bird takes a swim (only time I caught it surfacing).

Painting edit with the reflection.

Painting edit with the reflection.

Turtles eating the bread kids threw at them.

Turtles eating the bread kids threw at them.

Why are you throwing Subway bread at us?

Why are you throwing Subway bread at us?

Take off!

Take off!

Turn in the air.

Turn in the air.

Coming in for a landing.

Coming in for a landing.

Standing in the reeds.

Standing in the reeds.

Take off part two.

Take off part two.

The cats sit and watch.

The cats sit and watch.

The baby ducks return.

The baby ducks return.

Love the light play on the ripples.

Love the light play on the ripples.

Huddled in the reeds and watching.

Huddled in the reeds and watching.

It sees something.

It sees something.

Time to eat!

Time to eat!

If you look closely you can see a small fish in its beak.

If you look closely you can see a small fish in its beak.

Next week: I had to go out to Steiner Studios, so a walk along the outside of the Brooklyn Navy Yard.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Animals, Artsy, lake, Landscape, Morningside Heights, nature, NYC, Park, Summer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

