A Book Signing in SoHo

I treated myself to a book signing that took me to a store in SoHo I had never been to. That place was Housing Works Bookstore Cafe and the author was Felicia Day. She had written a memoir titled You’re Never Weird on the Internet (almost) that covered her life (so far), influences, and events that led up to her basically taking over the internet. Examples of this would be found at Geek and Sundry, Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog, and The Guild. For those of you non-internet people, you may recognize her from TV shows such as Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Dollhouse, Supernatural, and numerous guest spots on various prime time tv shows. You can follow her twitter here – although she has over 2.5 million followers, so I’ll assume you already do.

Knowing her fan base, I was surprised to see very few cosplayers on the line to get in (reservations had to be made, but it was open seating, so the line went around the block – I got lucky and was towards the front), and there were only two, who were in front of me on the line. My luck held out as I got inside and actually got a seat, not just a seat, a DECENT seat. I had emailed the hosts earlier to see if it was ok to take pics and they said it was, so long as I didn’t use a flash. As usual, with camera phones being what they are today, people still used a flash. Ugh. I got a lot of nice shots from my seat and wanted to share with people. These are all done in low light situations as the bookstore was very dark and only had a few stage lights for the interview section. Enjoy!

One of the only cosplayers. She became very popular on the line while we waited - her counterpart showed up just as we were going in.

One of the only cosplayers. She became very popular on the line while we waited – her counterpart showed up just as we were going in.

One of the workers at the bookstore introduces the author and the interviewer.

One of the workers at the bookstore introduces the author and the interviewer.

Of course she enters and takes a pic/video of the crowd.

Of course she enters and takes a pic/video of the crowd.

Many laughs to be had through the night.

Many laughs to be had through the night.

Author Lev Grossman handled the interviewing duties for the night.

Author Lev Grossman handled the interviewing duties for the night.

She has a point here.

She has a point here.

Flattering laughter.

Flattering laughter.

There may have been some snark.

There may have been some snark.

Make a weird face, i will catch it on camera.

Make a weird face, i will catch it on camera.

She was very passionate about everything she talked about.

She was very passionate about everything she talked about.

The front of the bookstore.

The front of the bookstore.

The back of the bookstore, including stage and cafe for food and drinks.

The back of the bookstore, including stage and cafe for food and drinks.

I got my book signed!

I got my book signed! And her editor was kind enough to take this pic

Hard at work signing away.

Hard at work signing away.

Next week: I wander around the East Village for awhile in the brutal summer sun.

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Architecture, NYC, People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

