Animal Encounters in the Marshland Conservancy

As posted last week, I went on a hike in the Marshlands Conservancy in Rye, NY. This is not a pet friendly hike, as there are lots of wild animals who live in the conservancy and you can come across them at any time. Here are the ones I encountered.

Walk down a path, a wild turkey steps out in front of you.

Walk down a path, a wild turkey steps out in front of you.

It mostly ignored us.

It mostly ignored us…

...which was surprising since it wasn't alone.

…which was surprising since it wasn’t alone.

Momma and babies.

Momma and babies.

Someone left a horseshoe crab shell on a bench.

Someone left a horseshoe crab shell on a bench.

Osprey nest, although we did not see any osprey.

Osprey nest, although we did not see any osprey.

I almost stepped on this crab by accident. It's so tiny!

I almost stepped on this crab by accident. It’s so tiny!

We were walking up a path, when my hiking partner shushed me and noticed this.

We were walking up a path, when my hiking partner shushed me and noticed this.

This doe had no fear of us.

This doe had no fear of us.

She's eating.

She’s eating.

Staring at us. Then back to eating.

Staring at us. Then back to eating.

As I rounded a corner, I came face to face with this guy.

As I rounded a corner, I came face to face with this guy.

He stands to greet us.

He stands to greet us.

Licking his chops. Are we going to be eaten?

Licking his chops. Are we going to be eaten?

Staring right at us.

Staring right at us.

Deer profile.

Deer profile.

He leads us out of the woods to the street/parking lot. A very magical experience.

He leads us out of the woods to the street/parking lot. A very magical experience.

Turtles in the water.

Turtles in the water.

This guy was massive.

This guy was massive.

Next week: I get to take a walk inside Marble Cemetery.

 

About nsantasier

I am an actor, fight choreographer, playwright, and photographer based in and around NYC. I shoot on a Canon Rebel XS with either a Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS lens or a Canon EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Zoom lens as they are the only lenses I currently own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

